About the museum
Volyn Local Lore Museum
Volyn Regional Museum is the largest and oldest museum in the Volyn oblast. It was opened on June 16, 1929 in Lutsk under the name of the Volyn Museum.
In 1940 this institution was turned in a regional museum of history and local lore. During the Second World War, the museum's collection suffered significant losses. In 1944, immediately after the expulsion of Nazi invaders from the Volyn oblast, the museum resumed its work as the Volyn State Museum of History and Local Lore. On August 17, 1985, the Volyn Regional Museummoved to new premises in the centre of Lutsk.
Nowadays, the Volyn Regional Museum incorporates six more branches which operate as museums. They are: Kolodiazhne Literary Memorial Museum of Lesia Ukrainka, established in 1949, with the Museum of the Forest Song operating in a picturesque location in Nechymne (2004); Art Museum (1973); Museum of the Volyn Icon (1993); Museum of the History of the Lutsk Brotherhood (2011); Viacheslav Lypynskyi Memorial Museum (2011) in the village Zaturtsi of Volodymyr-Volynskyi raion; Olyka Castle (2022) in Lutsk raion.
The Volyn Regional Museum also hosts a “Bird” workshop where various master classes are held. Artistic and cultural events are arranged within the "Museum Courtyard" cultural space.
Address: 20, Chopin Str, Lutsk, Volyn oblast, 43005
Telephones:
Director: + 380 332 720 364;
booking of excursions - 097 759 9247, 095 152 2509, (0332) 24-75-82.
Email: volkrmus@gmail.com
Opening hours: 10.00-18.00; 10.00-18.00 (Sundays).
The museum is closed on Saturdays and Mondays.
Entrance fee: for adults - UAH 100.00, for pupils, students, pensioners - UAH 50.00;
Excursion service (group up to 30 people, 45 minutes): for pupils, students, pensioners - UAH 200.00; for adults - UAH 300.00.
Entrance fee for temporary exhibitions:
a) the same as the entrance fee (for each exhibition separately);
b) for some exhibitions the entrance fee is established separately.